NBA renames MVP trophy after legend Michael Jordan

The Michael Jordan Trophy for NBA Finals MVP.  – NBA DOCUMENT

The Michael Jordan Trophy for NBA MVP. – NBA DOCUMENT

The NBA is renaming its annual regular-season Most Valuable Player award after legendary star Michael Jordan – who won the honor five times with the Chicago Bulls.

The league on Tuesday unveiled the newly designed Michael Jordan Trophy, along with five other redesigned trophies named after league pioneers that will now be presented to NBA season-ending award winners.

Jordan, a six-time NBA champion, won five MVPs in his 15-season career, tied for second behind Kareem Abdul-Jabbar who won six.

The NBA Social Justice Champion Award is named after Abdul-Jabbar.

Other high-profile awards announced on Tuesday are the Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy for Defensive Player of the Year, the Wilt Chamberlain Trophy for Rookie of the Year, the John Havlicek Trophy for Sixth Man of the Year and the George Mikan Trophy for Player more improved.

The NBA also announced a new award for Clutch Player of the Year, named after Jerry West, who appeared in nine NBA Finals and remains the only player to win Finals MVP while losing the series.

The new Michael Jordan trophy was created with input from the NBA icon, who requested that it not look like him.

It features a player stepping off a rock to reach for a crystal basketball and includes elements that reflect Jordan’s career, including references to his number 23 jersey and six NBA titles.

Previously, the league’s MVP trophy was named after former commissioner Maurice Podoloff, whose name will now be associated with a new trophy honoring the team with the best regular season record.


Read more

Don’t miss the latest news and information.

To subscribe to MORE APPLICANT to access The Philippine Daily Inquirer and over 70 titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to news, download as early as 4am and share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For comments, complaints or inquiries, Contact us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *